Home News Qatar temporarily suspends entry for travellers from 14 countries

Qatar temporarily suspends entry for travellers from 14 countries


Doha: The Government Communications Office said Sunday that in addition to Qatar Airways’ announcement regarding flights to and from Italy, entry to Qatar is temporarily suspended for all those intending to travel from certain countries, as of March 9, 2020.

The decision comes as a preventive measure due to the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19) worldwide.

The Government Communications Office said in a statement today that the decision includes the following countries: Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

The statement said that the step comes in line with the State of Qatars efforts to take all necessary preventive measures to limit the spread of Coronavirus.

The decision affects all individuals intending to enter from these countries, including visas upon arrival, those with a residence or work permit, and temporary visitors.

The State of Qatar urges all citizens and residents to avoid all but essential travel at this time.

The statement said that these precautionary measures may be subject to further updates based on the latest guidance of the national health authorities and international organizations on the spread of Coronavirus, in order to ensure the safety of all residents of the State of Qatar.

Source: https://www.thepeninsulaqatar.com/article/08/03/2020/Qatar-temporarily-suspends-entry-for-travellers-from-14-countries


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here